Historic Gems Recognised

 

New entries in the Heritage Register are recognising the importance of Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Duck Reach Power Scheme and Railway Workshops.

The Gorge is a unique place. It is a much-loved destination and attraction, with a unique blend of natural and cultural features, and a rich history that has appeal to locals and visitors.

The 1895 Duck Reach Power Scheme and Corin Street cottages tell the story of Launceston’s first hydroelectric scheme. A fascinating site, sadly, largely destroyed by powerful floods in 1929.

Launceston’s Railway Workshops is a large former industrial site and base for the University of Tasmania and the evocative and engaging Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.

 

‘These three places were entered in the Heritage Register some years ago, but their entries were excessively concise and contained limited detail that helped to substantiate their values, stories and features', said Ms Brett Torossi, Chair of the Tasmanian Heritage Council.

‘Recognising this, the Heritage Council has prepared new, and much more comprehensive, replacement entries that enable the Heritage Council to articulate the uniqueness of each of these places.’

The assessment of thes entries has been underway for an extended period. This has entailed research to define the historic cultural heritage values of each place, define the most appropriate boundary for each place and consult with the affected owners.

The information contained in these new Heritage Register entries will help inform any future development of these places, as part of the discretionary permit application process.

‘These new entries reflect our long-term goal of reviewing and replacing existing entries that warrant it, while continuing to add new entries that reflect the diversity of our heritage.’

The provisional replacement entry of these places in the Heritage Register is being advertised in The Examiner on 24 July 2019. This triggers a 60-day period that gives the public the opportunity to provide their feedback, under provisions contained in the Historic Cultural Heritage Act 1995.

For copies of the entries and details on how to comment on the entries, click here.



 

Back Home