Heritage Wins at Tasmanian Architecture Awards

Jenny's House

The sustainable use of historic heritage places was the big winner at the 2016 Tasmanian Architecture Awards night. Tasmania is fortunate to have such a wealth of built heritage, and Tasmanian architects who once again show themselves adept at enriching it through contemporary design.
Sponsored by the Tasmanian Heritage Council, the Heritage Award went to Rosevear Stephenson for Jenny’s House. The jury citation notes that ‘this project embraces its strict heritage overlay with sensitivity, deftly adding a contemporary addition to a house in the middle of Battery Point. A full-width verandah-as-living room extends the life of this modest four-room cottage by fusing house and garden as the one space.’
Jenny’s House also took out the Residential Architecture Houses (Alterations and Additions) Award, with a commendation to Circa Morris-Nunn Architects at the heritage-listed Acton in Lauderdale. Fabric from an old barn on the site was reused to create additions to the house, seamlessly fusing the new construction with the old.

The Residential Architecture Multiple Housing Award went to the Trinity Hill Youth Accommodation and Training Facility, which wraps around the heritage-listed, Henry Hunter designed Trinity Hill School in North Hobart. ‘The architects cleverly employ the former school as a natural divide and meeting place.’

 Trinity Hill School

Birrelli Art+Design+Architecture won the Small Project Architecture Award for Garden Pavilions which provide guest accommodation in the extensive gardens of Hatherley House in Launceston. ‘These twin pavilions are nestled out of sight of the main house, ensuring they form a haven of their own and do not detract from it.’

The Interior Architecture Award also involved a heritage-listed property. BYA Architect’s refurbishment of the old Marine Board Building on the Hobart waterfront for the Brickworks Design Studio created a space that is ‘appealingly light, spacious and flowing …. to create both a versatile space and successful junction of old and new’.

The coveted John Lee Archer Triennial Prize was awarded to Circa Morris-Nunn Architects for the Mountain Retreat Medical Centre in South Hobart. This heritage-listed site, which also received a National Australian Institute of Architecture Award in 2013, is described as ‘skilfully weaving a response to heritage, urban condition and program into a formal and spatial delight’.

The Heritage Council congratulates all winners, and the many short-listed entries that also helped to rejuvenate and protect Tasmania’s historic heritage.

For details of all the nominees and winners head to the 2016 Tasmanian Architecture Awards site.

Back Home