Helping to preserve Tasmania's built heritage
The Tasmanian Government is providing funding to reconstruct a wall at Franklin House, near Launceston.
Franklin House is one of Northern
Tasmania’s historic gems – it was built in 1838 by former convict Britton Jones
(a Launceston brewer and innkeeper) and from 1842-1866 it was used as a school
In 1960 Franklin House was the
first heritage property taken over by the National Trust in Tasmania.
Late last year a convict-built
wall on the southern boundary was deemed as dangerous and part of the wall was
taken down to make the area safe.
Reconstruction of the wall was
unfortunately beyond the financial capabilities of the magnificent volunteer
team that already contributes about 12,449 volunteer hours to the house and
gardens every year.
The Tasmanian Government was
lobbied by Launceston Aldermen about a
reinstatement plan and through negotiations with general manager Robert
Dobrzynski a 50-50 funding proposal was agreed between Council and the
It is hoped that the $80,000 wall
reconstruction will help restore the historical integrity of the site and
maintain Franklin House as a heritage tourism icon for Tasmania and in
particular the greater Launceston area.