Heritage Council Members


Ms Brett Torossi (Chairperson)

Brett is a passionate Tasmanian, with a keen interest in Tasmania, its heritage, identity, brand and future. She is an acclaimed business woman, tourism operator and property developer, and has had extensive leadership and management experience on private, public and voluntary boards. Brett is a Trustee of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG), a member of the Board of Tourism Tasmania, a Board member of the Tasmanian Development Board, a Board member of Creative Partnerships Australia, a Board member of the Australian Festival of Voices and, until taking on this position, was a Commissioner on the Tasmanian Planning Commission (TPC). Appointed to 31 December 2020.




Ms Michele Moseley

Michele is the permanent alternate to the Director National Parks and Wildlife (South). She was a career public servant including 15 years as Deputy Secretary in the Department of Primary Industries,Parks, Water and Environment. Michele is a GAICD and has wide experience in corporate governance, financial management and strategic policy development.


Genevieve Lilley

Genevieve Lilley is an architect practising in Tasmania and NSW. After eight years working with British architect Sir David Chipperfield (and collaborating with renowned British heritage architect Julian Harrap), she opened her own practice in London in 1999 and in Sydney in 2005. She lives in Hobart and  runs a small practice specialising in a range of odd and unique projects, mostly involving the adaptive re-use of historic buildings for modern life. She sat on the Diocesal Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches for Greater London 2000-02. She also currently sits on the NSW Heritage Committee, and the AIA National Gender Equity Committee. She judged the NSW AIA awards in 2009 and 2011, the National DIA jury in 2015, and chaired the TAS AIA Awards jury in 2017. Genevieve is also the designer for award-winning jewellery, Chair of the Living Room Theatre, and also writes for Houses Magazine and the Architectural Review. Appointed to: 31 May 2020.​

Dr Stuart King

 Stuart is appointed as the member representing heritage conservation interests. Stuart is an academic who lectures in architectural history and contemporary design for the University of Tasmania (UTAS) School of Architecture and Design. His PhD was awarded by the University of Melbourne for his research on public architecture in Queensland (1859-1909). Stuart's position to the Heritage Council was endorsed by the University of Tasmania. Appointed to: 31 December 2020.




Dr Kathryn Evans

Kathryn is appointed as the member with expertise in history. Dr Kathryn Evans is a consultant historian based in Hobart and has considerable experience working in the Tasmanian heritage sector, particularly in researching and interpreting historic places. She was awarded a Master in Public History from Monash University in 1991 and a PhD from the University of Tasmania in 2012. She is currently President of the Professional Historians Association of Tasmania and the Tasmanian representative on the national body, the Australian Council of Professional Historians Association (ACPHA). Appointed to: 31 December 2019.



Mr Alex van der Hek

Alex is appointed as the member representing community interests. He is the Corporate Secretary/Manager Corporate Support for the Clarence City Council. Alex comes to this role with extensive experience in governance, policy development and local government approval processes. He knows well the opportunities and challenges of owning and renovating heritage homes. Alex owns a much celebrated contemporary heritage home. Appointed to: 31 December 2020.


Person representing the National Trust of Australia (Tasmania)

An appointment against this position is being progressed.



Mr Frazer Read

Frazer is appointed as the member representing the building development industry. He is an experienced and respected planner, who has worked in local government and the private sector, here and overseas. Frazer was formerly a senior manager with GHD. He now works in his own private planning practice, and has recently been appointed to the State Government Planning Reform Taskforce. Frazer's appointment was endorsed by the Property Council of Tasmania. Appointed to: 31 December 2019.


Person representing the mining industry

 An appointment against this position is being progressed.



Mr David Gatenby

David is appointed as the member representing the Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association. He is a past president of the TFGA and has been a Board member since 2005. David is a delegate to the National Farmers Federation and has previously had 10 years experience as a local government councillor in Tasmania. He has a strong interest in historic heritage and is the only member of the Heritage Council required to own a heritage property. Appointed to: 31 December 2019.



Ms Kathryn McCann

Kathryn is appointed as the member representing the Tourism Industry Council of Tasmania (TICT). She is a highly regarded thinker and leader in the Tasmanian tourism industry, having worked in senior marketing roles with the Hobart International Airport and Tourism Tasmania. Kathryn is currently the Sales and Marketing Manager for the Federal Group. She has overseen significant passenger growth at Hobart Airport, led the development of the tourism brand and instigated Tourism Tasmania's 'Go Behind the Scenery' campaign and was recognised for her innovative and creative work in the tourism industry by being named the Minister's Young Achiever of the Year by the Tourism Industry Council in 2013. Appointed to: 31 December 2018.




Rev Roger Hesketh

Roger is appointed as the person representing the Tasmanian Council of Churches. Rev Hesketh is a Priest and the Enabler for three North and North East Tasmanian Anglican parishes. He holds diplomas in theology and ministry. Roger has worked in a variety of urban and rural parishes throughout Tasmania since 1986. He has held leadership positions at a regional level and is a current member of the Anglican Diocesan Council. Appointed to: 31 December 2019.



Denise Gaughwin​

Denise is appointed as the member with expertise in archaeology and has over 30 years experience in the field of archaeology. She has taught archaeology at La Trobe University and published a number of academic papers as well as management reports. Until recently she managed historic heritage in Tasmania with the Forest Practices Authority. Denise has previously been a member of the Tasmanian Heritage Council. Denise currently runs an archaeological consulting company specialising in archaeological policy and training. Appointed to: 31 May 2020.



Ms Danielle Gray

Danielle is appointed as the member with expertise in planning nominated by the Local Government Association of Tasmania. She is a planner by profession and holds the position of Senior Planner with the Kingborough Council. Danielle comes to this role with experience in planning and historic heritage with five planning authorities, has a special interest in military history and heritage, and is Secretary and Public Relations Officer on the Friends of Soldiers Memorial Avenue Inc committee. Appointed to: 31 December 2020. 




Alderman Robin McKendrick

Robin is appointed as the member representing the Local Government Association of Tasmania. He is a long-serving alderman on the Launceston City Council, has had extensive experience in local government and is a former Member of the Legislative Council (MLC). Robin was the Chairman of the Inveresk Precinct, including Aurora Stadium, is a member of the consumer reference committee of the Tasmanian Health Organisation (North), Franklin House committee and the Launceston Tramway Museum Society. He is a general representative of the Local Government Association of Tasmania. Appointed to: 31 December 2018.

Back Home